Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Announcements: Brief TRICARE Eligibility Verification System Outage

Title

Brief TRICARE Eligibility Verification System Outage

Body


Due to routine maintenance, there will be a planned system outage this weekend of the information system that tracks a beneficiary’s eligibility for TRICARE benefits.

Your health care providers, the Nurse Advice Line and retail pharmacies will not be able to confirm if you are eligible for TRICARE benefits during parts of this outage.

The system outage will also affect your ability to make changes to your TRICARE benefits.

This outage will start Friday evening and is expected to last through early Sunday morning. The system outage is expected to have minimal impact for most patients.

What is affected? When will it be affected?

TRICARE benefits changes
No changes can be made during this time

Prescriptions
Medications may have to be purchased out-of-pocket, which will be reimbursed


Start: Friday, May 20, 2016
9pm Eastern / 8pm Central / 6pm Pacific
End: Sunday, May 22, 2016
3am Eastern / 2am Central / 12am Pacific

Start: Saturday, May 21, 2016
3pm Eastern / 2pm Central / 12pm Pacific
End: Sunday, May 22, 2016
3am Eastern / 2am Central / 12am Pacific

What If I Need To See a Doctor?

Bring your Military ID Card. Most health care providers will accept your Military ID Card as proof of TRICARE eligibility.
What If I Need a Prescription?

If you need a routine backfill of a prescription at your local retail pharmacy, please remember to do so before the planned shutdown period as the pharmacist will not be able to query the system to determine your eligibility.

If you need to fill an emergency prescription during the planned outage, you may need to pay out-of-pocket. You will then have to file a claim for reimbursement. Please keep your receipts for any health care or prescriptions you get just in case.
To limit impact on prescriptions, our pharmacy contractor, Express Scripts, will be first to be brought back online.
Can I Still Call the Nurse Advice Line?
The Nurse Advise Line will continue to provide services during the outage. Call 1-800-TRICARE (874-2273), option 1. The team is aware of the outage but will be able to assist you.

How Else Could This Affect Me?
During this planned outage, you also may not be able to access and change eligibility data:
• Verify eligibility
• Update your personal information in DEERS
• Enroll or purchase any health or dental plans
• Get new wallet cards
• Request proof of coverage
• Perform other secure functions

Finally, this may affect functions on several websites, including:
• MilConnect – (Update personal information, check eligibility, get new TRICARE cards, get proof of coverage)
• Defense Enrollment Eligibility Reporting System (DEERS) – (Providers and pharmacies use to check your eligibility for TRICARE)
• Beneficiary Web Enrollment (BWE) – (Used to enroll in TRICARE Prime, TRICARE Prime Remote, TRICARE Young Adult, the US Family Health Plan, or the dental plans)

Expires

5/23/2016

Attachments

Created at 5/19/2016 10:21 AM by Brown, Andrew J Jr CIV USARMY MEDCOM MCACH (US)
Last modified at 5/19/2016 10:21 AM by Brown, Andrew J Jr CIV USARMY MEDCOM MCACH (US)